The Lazy Girls Shade

I wanted to show you guys how I made my shade. There are quite a few tutorials out there for a no sew roman shade, I went with the cheapest and easiest.
Here’s what I used:
1 yard of fabric
Fabric Glue
3 tension curtain rods

I started by measuring my window. It is 31×52. I layed the fabric out and ironed it, then folded over the sides to get it down to 31″ wide. Then bonded them with my fabric glue. I then folded over the top and glued it together, leaving a small pocket for the top tension rod. Then I double folded the bottom making a nice edge, and ran a line of fabric glue to hold it. I ironed every edge before glueing to make sure they were all even and clean. Fold. Iron. Glue. Got it? Good!
Then once the glue is dry, I waited a whole 5 min, I hung the shade withe the first tension rod. Then I placed the second rod about six inches down in front of the fabric and then the third about six inches below that. Then pull the fabric out and over the rods a few inches. I had to play around with it to get it even and laying flat.
PicMonkey Collagewindow
It maybe took a whole 15 minutes from start to finish. And wow what a difference!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

So Simple and quick. This is definitely a project I will be doing again! Btw, don’t mind the wood filler on the window, I took this picture before I painted the trim.

Thanks for stopping by,

Caroline

One thought on “The Lazy Girls Shade

Leave a Reply

