Blue on a whim

A few weeks ago, we had a blue kitchen table. Now we have a great farmhouse table, one day I’ll post on it, but I was missing that great big pop of color, so the other night while the kids were lounging watching Elf, yes I know it’s not Christmas anymore, but they are obsessed with watching Christmas movies, well I grabbed the leftover blue paint and went to town on our white buffet. I’m digging it!

SONY DSC

The paint was originally a can of “oops” we picked up from Home Depot, and it is in a flat finish. I usually don’t like a flat on furniture, but with the distressing I did, I am really pleased with it. I saw a dresser painted then distressed, then lightly stained, and that was the original plan, but I like it so much like this, so it is staying this way for a while. Maybe in a month or so I will decide to put a coat of stain on it just to see how it turns out. I’m scared to ruin a good thing right now.

Heres the before all dingy and dirty:

SONY DSCAfter, pretty and bright!!

SONY DSCPicMonkey Collageuse

I made the table runner out of some leftover burlap and I just glued a ribbon to the ends to jazz it up a bit. And aren’t my canisters the best, a Goodwill find about a month ago, $5 for all!

SONY DSCThe lamp is old, but I just picked up the lampshade from Target last week. I love it!

SONY DSC

Once I get curtains for the window I think it will look great. I am really starting to love my kitchen!

Thanks for stopping by,

Caroline

Leave a Reply

